FatCogs Community Discussion Forums

Go Back   FatCogs Community Discussion Forums > Fat Chance Bicycles > Builder's Corner

Builder's Corner Restoration and preservation. Keep them running in perfect shape. What size is your bottom bracket?

Old September 10th, 2012, 3:11 PM   #1
jpicard616

Default Ringle bottle cages, good or bad?

I've been building up my 97 Yo for several months now, and just scored a great deal on two almost mint purple Ringle cages. As I was mounting them (with mild frustration) I was reminded of how much I dislike actually using these cages for what they were intended. So I thought I'd make a pro's and con's list and see if anyone has anything else to say on the matter, and if I should use them or go with something else.

Pros:
Beautifully machined part
excellent color choices
light as a feather

Cons:
they're difficult to get a perfect adjustment for whatever bottle you're using
the shape makes them a pain to mount
sharp edges tear up bottle decals (not a big deal unless it's a nice old Fat City bottle)
the little "L" shaped bottle support piece isn't attached and is easily lost

It's also come to my attention that a lot early to mid 90's restorations that I see seem to feature these cages. Is that because everyone else loves these things and I'm missing something, or are they just a cool high end part that looks good on show bikes?
jpicard616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2012, 3:55 PM   #2
colker

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpicard616 View Post
I've been building up my 97 Yo for several months now, and just scored a great deal on two almost mint purple Ringle cages. As I was mounting them (with mild frustration) I was reminded of how much I dislike actually using these cages for what they were intended. So I thought I'd make a pro's and con's list and see if anyone has anything else to say on the matter, and if I should use them or go with something else.

Pros:
Beautifully machined part
excellent color choices